White Eagle Hall is a newly restored and renovated historic theater located in the thriving nightlife scene of Downtown Jersey City, New Jersey. White Eagle Hall presents live music, theatre, comedy, dance, film, family shows as well as other performances while serving food and drinks. In addition, White Eagle Hall is a warm and intimate event space perfect for weddings, receptions, private parties, fundraisers, corporate meetings and other functions.
As one of the newest and most unique live-performance and event spaces in the Northeast, White Eagle Hall comprehensive overhaul features a roughly 8,000 square-foot flexible space venue and it’s capacity is 800 standing, 400 seating or 250 seated for dining; has many historic features including a wrought iron wrap-around balcony, a coffered tin ceiling with two large stained glass atriums. White Eagle Hall includes its very own bar and food service. In addition, White Eagle Hall features two restaurants on the ground level, Cellar 335 and Madame Claude Bis. White Eagle Hall is located in the thriving nightlife scene of Downtown Jersey City Restaurant Row, where there are many other restaurants and bars to enjoy.
The building opened in 1910, constructed by polish immigrants and craftsmen under the leadership of Father Peter Boleslaus Kwiatowski, who transferred ownership to St. Anthony’s upon his death. The parish managed the venue throughout the 20th century. Embedded in the White Eagle Hall ceiling are two spectacular, hand-crafted stained glass skylights — one commemorating Frédéric Chopin, the classical music composer, and the other Marcella Sembrich, an internationally renowned opera star. Perhaps White Eagle Hall’s most famous achievement is the facility’s unique contribution to basketball: White Eagle Hall was the home of the St. Anthony Friars, the basketball team of St. Anthony High School coached by Jersey City native and Basketball Hall of Fame inductee Bob Hurley. The original wood basketball floor where the Friars had their famous practice are now used as bar counters and balcony flooring; wood fixtures from Saint Boniface Church (constructed in 1865), can be found in the window frames, bar sides and balcony railings and ledges; and, Boniface altar fixtures can also be seen in the box office/merchandise area.